showimage

Today I woke up at 5am to workout before I had to take my young soccer player to his 9am game. I was a well oiled machine. After one hour on the elliptical and 30 minutes lifting weights, I was on my way home. At 8:30am I was ushering my kids and husband out the door to get to the park on time. Feeling like a champ, I reached into my pocket to take out my phone to check for last minute team texts. Imagine my horror when I realized I did not have my…phone.

Good golly, Miss Motorola, I was cut off from the world. Yes, my near and dear were with me in the car, but my lifeline to the world was sitting alone and neglected in my workout bag. I was ready to drop the family off and retrace my steps back to the house to rescue my electronic extension of my arm when my husband put his foot down. He said I should enjoy being disconnected for a few hours. I looked at him as if he just told me to hold my breath for five minutes. What if I wanted to check the weather? What if someone asked me something I couldn’t answer without doing a Google search? What if I got a tweet from a friend sharing her random thought of the day?

What was I to do?

Well, I put on my big girl panties and pretended it was 1996. I sat in the sun and watched my son’s team win their second game of the season. I had a conversation with my mother without having to do a random fact check. I enjoyed the morning without being seduced by the siren song of the smartphone. It was liberating.

Leave a Reply

