I’m reading Girl on a Train by Paula Hawkins. I’m 10% through it which isn’t much. I  have 7 days left on my checkout.  

When I was younger without being responsible for educating my children, running a household, and maintaining a social calendar, I  could read a good book in a day or two.  If the book was lengthy and deep like Anna Karenina by Tolstoy, it may take me a week to  finish.  Now that I’m older with scattered energies, I find I can’t sit for long periods of time to get lost in a book. I  get easily distracted. For example, I turned on my Kindle and read one paragraph. Suddenly I felt the urge to check my Facebook, read a political article, and write this blog post. Now for further transparency, I’ll finish this post, take a fifteen minute nap, then later get dinner together.

The book is intriguing. I’m getting to know a depressed drunk and a bored housewife. Honestly, it’s interesting and I’m promised a mystery, so I won’t shelve this novel, but I  can’t keep myself plugged in. I will finish this book in two days. I need to force myself to take the time to disconnect from my responsibilities and the internet.

Leave a Reply

