As I get older, my kinder side starts to take a backseat

The optimism I once had in hand now lays crumbled by my feet.

I will doubt everyone before leaving the benefit at the door

Life has taught me many things and I’m now learning more.

Kindness is looked as weakness, a smile is deemed suspect

Loving arms are pushed aside and no one knows respect.

Young black boy gets murdered cold for bumping into hate

Old bigot sees fit to kill him, gets arrested after he ate

A dinner in comfort in his home, feeling justified

“I just took out the trash,” he boasts while a mother cried.

Too many stories like this one on my social page

No one knows the pain I feel as I swallow down the rage.

Leave a Reply

