apple-varieties

(This poem is inspired by a story one of my elders shared with me about the alibi of one of his neighbors.)

I was standin’ on the corner

cuttin’ the skin off an apple.

Along came that no good

Jimmy B.

He was hot about sumptin’

But I paid him no nevermind.

I just kept on cuttin’ the skin off my apple.

He talked about kickin’ my ass

And puttin’ me down in the groun’.

Hell, he did call me out my name,

but I paid him no nevermind

‘Cuz I was cutting on my apple.

Then…

Then…

He shamed my momma.

Then…

Then…

He started running right into my knife.

But I paid him no nevermind.

Leave a Reply

