And I find it kinda funny, I find it kinda sad
The dreams in which I’m dying are the best I’ve ever had
I find it hard to tell you, I find it hard to take
When people run in circles it’s a very very
mad world mad world
                                             —Roland Orzabal
Today while I was sweating through my pink workout clothes on the elliptical, I watched the morning news scroll through images of a Latina speaking to a crowd of peaceful protesters at the Women’s March.  Her face was earnest as her words were captured in the closed caption.  Many women of different races, sizes, ages, and creeds wore pink pussy hats carrying signs that reflected their concerns. The news showed another clip of protesters the day of the inauguration of the 45th president.  Some images were peaceful and some were violent.  Then the focused showed the new American president dancing with his wife.  My iPod, with a mind of its own, shuffled to Gary Jules’ version of Mad World.  The moment was so eerie because as I watched these images, I felt the world was…mad.  Then later I saw the press conference from the White House.  Expecting to hear about new bills being signed and…well, important things, I heard  ranting about pictures, tweets, and statistics. Why was this information worth a press conference? Why did it matter?
2 thoughts on “Mad World

Leave a Reply

