My cherished friend

You were always there

stroking my eyes

and tangling my hair.

You gave me strength

to greet the day.

You’re the rest from fun

the balm for play.

You heal my body

and protect my mind.

You give me  pause

You keep me kind.

I love you friend

but I can’t see

Why while I’m older

You’ve abandoned me.

Meditation and pills

Temporary for ills.

I’m way too weary

of this lamentation

I drag through life

Is this my station?

To grovel and moan

This strain cannot keep

I toss and turn

Looking for you, Sleep.

Leave a Reply

