Don’t mistake my smile as acceptance

It’s my default to get through life

And weed out strangling vines

That causes all the strife.

Don’t mistake my sugar for sweetness

That’s folly through and through

If I’m always perceived as sweet

That doesn’t  bode well for you.

Don’t mistake civility for meekness

I’ve read the social contract

To get along, you go along

My motives are that exact. 

So go your way and I’ll go mine

My framework now is listed

If I treat you like a stranger

Just know you got it twisted. 

 

Leave a Reply

