On January 1, 2017 I began a self preservation odyssey that centered around yoga.  I have been practicing yoga off and on for decades.  About 4 years ago I jumpstarted my yoga practice to a regular part of my fitness program because of a knee injury.  The doctors prescribed painkillers and physical therapy for my injury.  I prescribed yin yoga and became pain-free.  Once I was rehabilitated, I continued to practice yoga twice a week with some minor stretching on the days I did not do a full practice.

On New Year’s Day, I decided to do yoga everyday for a month.  I used podcasts, yogadownload.com, YouTube, and my own routines to establish a consistent practice. That month turned into two months.  Now I’m looking back at nearly 7 whole months of yoga and my spirit is lifted.  I have done this before, but the goal was to heal myself.  This time, the goal is to push past my boundaries physically and build my boundaries mentally.

This year has been a challenging year.  Many times I have found myself feeling trapped, manipulated, and punished for just breathing fresh air.  My feelings are based on real and imagined offenses, and I recognize that with an open mind and heart.  I realize a lot of these conflicts will never be resolved and some will need time to either heal or be resolved.  No matter the conflict or offense, yoga allows me to rest my mind and focus on me.  As I type this, I realize I need to get dinner ready and prepare to walk the dog.  My office is hot and the air is humid.  A flutter of a migraine is resting behind my eyes and this monitor is assaulting my vision.  But I straighten my carriage, take a deep breath, and realize before the day is over, I will take my mental and physical struggles to the map and feel better for it.

Namaste.

 

Leave a Reply

